Life and Death

chenrezig2I bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

Without faith in the Teacher, I have no guide.

Without faith in the Buddha, I have no shelter.

Without faith in the Dharma, I have no path.

Without faith in the Sangha, I have no support.

Without faith in the Promise, I have no assurance of victory.

 

When faith is undefiled, the mind is pure.

Obliterating pride, it is the root of reverence,

and the foremost possession in the treasury of Dharma*.

Bless me to have the faith that is clear wisdom!

 

If I do not practice with constancy and fervor,

my formations will bind me to the cycle of suffering.

If I do not recite the Name with eagerness and gratitude,

I will die in anxiety and oppressed by regret.

Bless me to cultivate the effort that avoids, the one that overcomes,

the effort that develops, and the one that sustains!

 

If I do not remember the instructions of my Teachers,

I will stumble and fall on the path of perfection.

If I do not recall the mind of renunciation,

I will fall in the pit of delusion and sorrow.

Bless me to keep in mind the ground, the path, and the result!

 

If I scatter my thoughts, the arrow of my bow will miss its target.

If I squander my time in secondary practices, death will find me unsettled.

Bless me to live with the mind of enlightenment and die with the Holy Name!

 

If I live with the view of existence, I will collect shadows.

If I die with the view of non-existence, I will stumble in darkness.

Bless me to know the emptiness of the dependent

and the unhindered plenitude of Natural Perfection!

 

As the wheel follows the ox that pulls the cart,

all my thoughts, words, and deeds have consequences.

Bless me to keep my view as high as a white-tailed eagle’s,

and my conduct as careful as a blind man’s on a steep mountain trail!

 

* Spoken by Buddha Shakyamuni in the Avatamsaka sutra.

 

Mind Training 19 – 21: Life and Death

Practice the Five Strengths during life:

Faith in the Three Jewels

Effort in Practice

Mindfulness of the Dharma

Concentration on Enlightenment

Wisdom of Emptiness

Practice the Five Strengths at death:

Faith in Vows

Effort in Recitation

Mindfulness of Definitive Aspiration

Concentration on the Holy Name

Wisdom of Buddha Nature

Conduct is always important.

 

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

