Precepts of Ethical Conduct

1972410_656014707787248_2492592580534451744_nI vow to abstain from depriving sentient beings of life, directly or indirectly,

or rejoice in the taking of life, and to protect all sentient beings.

I understand what it is that I do. I am glad. I accept this discipline of my own free will.

I promise to observe the precept to avoid killing.

I vow to abstain from taking what is not freely given,

and to give material aid to those in need, protection to the oppressed,

and Dharma instruction to those who are receptive.

I understand what it is that I do. I am glad. I accept this discipline of my own free will.

I promise to observe the precept to avoid stealing.

I vow to abstain from sexual misconduct,

and to respect the physical, emotional, and mental integrity of all sentient beings.

I understand what it is that I do. I am glad. I accept this discipline of my own free will.

I promise to observe the precept to avoid sexual misconduct.

I vow to abstain from misrepresenting my spiritual attainments,

and from denying the Buddha Nature of all sentient beings.

I understand what it is that I do. I am glad. I accept this discipline of my own free will.

I promise to observe the precept to abstain from lying.

I vow to avoid intoxication that leads to heedlessness, and to cultivate mindfulness.

I understand what it is that I do. I am glad. I accept this discipline of my own free will.

I promise to observe the precept to avoid intoxication.

About Tashi Nyima

Venerable Tashi Nyima is the Preceptor at Nying Je Ling (Universal Compassion Buddhist Congregation).
This entry was posted in Practice Texts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment