Bullfighting, Yulin, Gadhimai, Faroe…

11822370_749670908475130_8046781669066238505_nYes, these are unspeakable horrors. Yes, we feel compassion for the suffering of bulls in Spain, dogs in China, buffaloes in Nepal, and whales in the Faroe Islands. And yes, we must raise our voices against animal cruelty, anywhere and everywhere. But let us never forget that the greatest animal holocaust takes place on the dinner table, made possible and financed by our addiction to animal flesh, milk, and eggs.

While we point the finger at the “savages” who amuse themselves by killing defenseless animals, sign countless petitions against barbarous customs in other parts of the world, and write angry tirades on the internet about the immorality of “others”, do we reflect on the harm caused directly by our choices?

If we eat meat and eggs, consume dairy products, and wear leather, wool, and down, we are responsible for the merciless torture and killing of countless sentient beings.

It is time to sign and send a petition to ourselves: “Dear Me, Please stop hurting animals while pointing the finger at others.”

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bullfighting, Yulin, Gadhimai, Faroe…

  1. Pieter Navis says:

    as I try to stop eating meat, I find that morally veganism is the only reasonable thing to do. As I work towards that “goal” old habits interfere and try to persuade me to do otherwise. As I eat eggs every now and then, I know that it’s not enough to cut out on meat. I have to change my view of the world and my role in it. Very difficult perhaps at the start, but as with all addictions there is a root cause. In this case it has to do with the belief in having to eat meat and being ignorant of the suffering of animals. It is my wish to work out a path which will help me to stay clear from eating meat and dairy products, while at the same time teaches me how to be an example without judging others.

    I just need to give myself the space and time to integrate these lessons, without judging myself. Veganism has always had a negative connotation to me, but as I start to understand the reasons behind it more clearly, it has become apparent to me that it’s the only real choice I can make for myself. It means change of diet and habit, yes. But it also means awareness of the suffering of animals and the possibility to lessen their suffering, if only by a small bit.

    Conscious choice over habitual reflexes

    • Tashi Nyima says:

      Thank you, Pieter, for your compassion.

      • Pieter Navis says:

        Thank you too Tashi, for your gentle.reminders! They help me as they confront me: yes, I do have a choice! I can no longer hide in ignorance now that I’ve made the first step by giving up meat. After seeing Earthlings I now realize that not eating meat is (but) a small step in the larger whole, I realize more and more the true potential, power and dignity of (the Bodhisattva) compassion.

        It really reminds me of a post of a week ago which I’ve read a few times in which one is reminded that it is a good sign if one thinks one should practice more. The topic of animals.and animal rights is such a topic which deserves every bit of training and awareness I can put into it.

        Thank you my compassionate friend for all the great posts which help me to stay focused on what matters!!

        Om ah hung bendza guru pema siddhi hung

Leave a Reply

