Look at the stars

Do you think the universe is agitated?

Go into the desert at night and look up at the stars.

This practice should answer that question.

 

The wise settle their minds

as the universe settles the stars in the sky.

 

By connecting their minds

with the subtle origin, the wise calm them.

Once calmed, their minds naturally expand,

and become as vast and immeasurable

as the night sky.

About Tashi Nyima

Venerable Tashi Nyima is the Preceptor at Nying Je Ling (Universal Compassion Buddhist Congregation).
This entry was posted in Dharma View. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Look at the stars

  1. Yue-han says:

    When I heard the learn’d astronomer,
    When the proofs, the figures, were ranged in columns before me,
    When I was shown the charts and diagrams, to add, divide, and measure them,
    When I sitting heard the astronomer where he lectured with much applause in the lecture-room,
    How soon unaccountable I became tired and sick,
    Till rising and gliding out I wander’d off by myself,
    In the mystical moist night-air, and from time to time,
    Look’d up in perfect silence at the stars.
    — Walt Whitman, 1865

Leave a comment