Eternal Law

15665943_272346869846574_6465369063098680817_n“He abused me, he struck me, he overpowered me, he robbed me.”

Those who harbor such thoughts do not still their hatred.

 

“He abused me, he struck me, he overpowered me, he robbed me.”

Those who do not harbor such thoughts still their hatred.

 

Hatred is never appeased by hatred in this world.

By non-hatred alone is hatred appeased. This is a law eternal.

 

There are those who do not realize that one day we all must die.

But those who do realize this settle their quarrels.

—Buddha Shakyamuni, Udanavarga

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eternal Law

  1. Deb says:

    In rereading this quote I realize that the message here is to Not hold a resentment which would be a negative habit of attachment to feeling like a victim and feeling stuck in a past memory of trauma

    And of course it is necessary to love our anger and hate to be able to become empowered enough to make better choices concerning setting boundaries with those who would harm us

    Loving our hate allows us to make empowered choices and let go of grievances

    Forgiveness comes once we have resolved the wounds yet stepping back into an abusive situation is not always wise either

    Yeah I have accepted my past abuses yet I don’t want to have to continue to live with that time of behavior again when the other person isn’t sorry or hasn’t changed their attitudes

    Gawd there needs to be a lot of communication and education in this world, that is a constant necessity

  2. Pingback: Eternal Law | Zen Flash

Leave a Reply

