The 5 Precepts

15095487_927241997375276_676859992233458410_nI vow to refrain from killing. I shall not kill, cause others to kill, or approve of anyone killing sentient beings. I regret, censure, reject, and abandon killing.

I vow to refrain from taking what is not freely given. I shall not take, cause others to take, or approve of anyone taking what is not freely given. I regret, censure, reject, and abandon taking what is not freely given.

I vow to refrain from sexual misconduct. I shall not engage, cause others to engage, or approve of anyone engaging in sexual misconduct. I regret, censure, reject, and abandon sexual misconduct.

I vow to refrain from harmful speech. I shall not harm, cause others to harm, or approve of anyone harming sentient beings through lying, divisive speech, harsh and abusive words, and idle chatter. I regret, censure, reject, and abandon harmful speech.

I vow to refrain from intoxication, leading to carelessness. I shall not become intoxicated, cause others to become intoxicated, or approve of anyone becoming intoxicated. I regret, censure, reject, and abandon intoxication, leading to carelessness.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The 5 Precepts

Leave a Reply

