Spontaneous Compassion

Saraha7895In Enlightenment’s spontaneous display of activity,

upon witnessing the suffering of sentient beings,

tears of overwhelming compassion naturally flow forth.

Taking on their suffering and giving in return our own well being,

we engage in healing others for their sake.

—Mahasiddha Saraha, Treasury of Song

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spontaneous Compassion

  1. Nayi Nunez says:

    Hola Tashi, Me topé con esto hoy y quise compartirlo. Any thoughts? Nayi When Chopra Center co-founder Dr. David Simon taught meditation, he would often tell students, “The thought ‘I’m having thoughts’ may be the most important thought you have ever thought, because before you had that thought, you may not have even known you were having thoughts. You probably thought you were your thoughts.”

    Date: Thu, 31 Mar 2016 16:04:48 +0000 To: nayirobi@hotmail.com

  2. Martha Chapman says:

    Thank you.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. I wish I could do better handling–or trying to handle–the suffering of other sentient beings. I get pulled into deep depression (which is probably genetic with me anyway), especially regarding animal suffering. Do you think, according to Buddhist thought, I am attached to my own suffering on their behalf? Even constant action to better their circumstances would not free me from this sort of pain, I’m afraid.

Leave a Reply

