Teachers and Friends

ShantidevaArya Shantideva said that it is pointless to revere the Buddhas if we do not also revere all sentient beings, for it is in their association that we obtain the opportunity to learn and practice the Dharma.

Today, I would like to thank all sentient beings —human and non-human, dead and alive— with whom I have met in the past, meet now, and will meet in the future.

Whether you wish me ill or well; whether you treat me kindly or not; whether you walk with me on this path or not, I thank you. You are my teachers. You are my friends.

With love and deep gratitude,

the beggar Tashi Nyima

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teachers and Friends

  1. marthachapman1942@yahoo.com says:

    Thank you Tashi. 

    Sent from myMail for iOS

    Friday, January 29, 2016, 10:43 AM -0600 from comment-reply@wordpress.com : >Tashi Nyima posted: “Arya Shantideva said that it is pointless to revere the Buddhas if we do not also revere all sentient beings, for it is in their association that we obtain the opportunity to learn and practice the Dharma.

    Today, I would like to thank all sentient beings” >

  2. Yonten says:

    I bow to you Kind Teacher
    Thank you Tashi la
    Humbly – Yonten

  3. Sabine says:

    Thank you Tashi,
    I fully agree and rejoyce in your good example.
    Please help me further in understanding: why do you call yourself beggar here?
    I understood you giving your deep gratitude to all sentient beings, do you have any request “being a beggar”?
    Thank you – Sabine

Leave a Reply

