Whataboutery

fingerpointing-in-e14080318332322[Whataboutery = responding to criticism by accusing one’s opponents of similar or worse faults.]

Like children in the playground, adults of every age, as well as communities and nations, justify our verbal and physical violence invoking the harm that others may have caused us.

Assigning blame (“She offended me!”, “He hurt me!”), we shun our responsibility for our own actions. An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth make the whole world blind and toothless.

The unwholesome conduct of others does not give us license to violate our moral precepts. Killing, stealing, lying, and abusing others are never right, even if ‘they’ are guilty of these same actions.

He abused me, he struck me, he humiliated me, he robbed me

—in those who harbor such thoughts, hatred will never cease.

“He abused me, he struck me, he humiliated me, he robbed me”

—in those who do not harbor such thoughts, hatred will cease.”

Buddha Shakyamuni, Dharmapada 1.3-4

The question we should ask ourselves at every moment is not who started this unfortunate chain of unwholesomeness, but who can and should end it. Only we can!

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

