No Virtues; Many Faults

PemaDuddulThe roots of the Dharma are loving kindness and compassion. Do you have real love and compassion in you? How can anyone trained in compassion consume meat?

Look at the suffering is caused by eating meat! The consequences of our own acts will ripen on us, and there is nothing that the Buddhas of the three times can do about it.

Eating meat does not promote any virtues, and produces many faults: it is the source of the four hundred classes of disease, the eighty thousand obstacles, and the eighty four thousand afflicted emotions.

―Nyala Pema Dündul

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Dharma View. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Virtues; Many Faults

  1. Pingback: Eating meat does not promote any virtues, and produces many faults | Zen Flash

  2. Dearest Tashi Nyima, please could you answer my question :
    I have eaten no meat, nor fish, during 10 years. I would like to continue that way. But I have problems with my intestines and doctors talled me that I need to eat meat to avoid more problems…
    I am 70, and as a buddhist practitioner for 13 years, I am sure that there is a “middle” solution to my question ; for example : to eat less meat as often as possible… Please tell me your position.
    Many thanks.
    Patrick (from France)

    • Tashi Nyima says:

      Dear Patrick, om svasti MDs are most often not well versed in nutrition. There is NO condition in which meat-eating is “healthier” than a vegan diet. Please seek out a vegan nutritionist, and s/he will be able to guide you. Meat consumption is not only immoral, it is unhealthy. mangalam
      Tashi Nyima

  3. Dear Tashi Nyima,
    THANK YOU SO MUCH.
    Blessings to you.
    Patrick

Leave a Reply

