Five Facts

10155532_693003830742504_2975032422301864961_nThere are these five facts that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained. Which five?

“I am subject to aging; I have not gone beyond aging.” This is the first fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

“I am subject to illness; I have not gone beyond illness.” This is the second fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

“I am subject to death; I have not gone beyond death.” This is the third fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

“All I hold as mine, dear and delightful, will change, crumble, and then vanish.” This is the fourth fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

“I am the owner of my actions; I am heir to my actions, born of my actions, related through my actions, and have my actions as my support. Whatever I do, for good or for ill, to that will I fall heir.” This is the fifth fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

These are the five facts on which one should reflect often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained.

―Buddha Shakyamuni, Anguttara Agama

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Sutra. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Five Facts

  1. Yonten says:

    Thank you Tashi la.
    Humbly – Yonten

  2. Pingback: Five Facts | Great Middle Way | radupopescublog

  3. paulfarma says:

    Thank you. PKL

    Great Middle Way 於 2014年12月22日 (週一) 10:28 PM 寫道﹕

    #yiv5413397221 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5413397221 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5413397221 a.yiv5413397221primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5413397221 a.yiv5413397221primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5413397221 a.yiv5413397221primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5413397221 a.yiv5413397221primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5413397221 WordPress.com | Tashi Nyima posted: “There are these five facts that one should reflect on often, whether one is a woman or a man, lay or ordained. Which five?“I am subject to aging; I have not gone beyond aging.” This is the first fact on which one should reflect often, whether one is a” | |

  4. Joaquin says:

    No one is free of these five facts no one, that is a fact.

Leave a Reply

