Developing Concentration

tAranAtha_1To develop concentration, I must reduce my ambitions and activities.

To reduce my ambitions, I must have few desires.

To have few desires, I must be satisfied with simple food, clothing, and shelter.

Whatever possessions I may have, I will not be attached to them.

If I do not have possessions, I will consider destitution a support for my practice.

Whatever happens, I shall be content.

—Jetsun Taranatha

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Developing Concentration

  1. Yonten says:

    Thank you for the clarity Tashi la.
    Humbly – Yonten

  2. paulfarma says:

    Thank you. PKL

    Great Middle Way 於 2014年11月9日 (週日) 8:48 PM 寫道﹕

    WordPress.com Tashi Nyima posted: “To develop concentration, I must reduce my ambitions and activities. To reduce my ambitions, I must have few desires. To have few desires, I must be satisfied with simple food, clothing, and shelter. Whatever possessions I may have, I will not be”

  3. Marilyn Torres says:

    Ive ben.reading your posts and I think they are interesting and important, and I been throught a long never ending way of needs, and I would like.to know if its has to be related to something I need to do or change. If you could send me more info I will appreciate. Thanks

Leave a Reply

