Evil Spirits

Vajrasattva2“Evils spirits” are nothing but the negative tendencies that we have accumulated in our minds. They are called “Maras” (enemies), in Buddhism. In the Jonang lineage, this teaching is made explicit in the following contemplation:

Mara, I see you

in my sense of separation and supremacy;

in my envy and resentment;

in my craving and dissatisfaction;

in my greed and miserliness;

in my hatred and cruelty;

in my fear and helplessness;

in my pride and neglect;

and in my doubts and uncertainty. 

I see and I purify you.

om vajrasattva hum

All is pure as it is.

I am pure as I am.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Dharma View. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Evil Spirits

  1. Paul says:

    Beautiful

  2. dharma pen says:

    Tashi, is Mara part of our karma? Or does our karma manifest as Mara in our lives? Does that make sense?

  3. Darren Robinson says:

    So we create our own Maras through bad karmic actions, and wrong thoughts? So Mara then, is not some demonic entity? Excuse my ignorance

  4. Yonten says:

    Thank you Tashi!
    Humbly- Yonten

  5. paulfarma says:

    Thank you. PKL

    Great Middle Way 於 2014年07月27日 (週日) 12:36 AM 寫道﹕

    WordPress.com Tashi Nyima posted: ““Evils spirits” are nothing but the negative tendencies that we have accumulated in our minds. They are called “Maras” (enemies), in Buddhism. In the Jonang lineage, this teaching is made explicit in the following contemplation: Mara, I see you  in “

  6. Frater VAI says:

    Have you had success with this? (i.e. does the Mara go away) or do you continue to battle it out with your lower nature year after year? I admire and continue to investigate Tibetan Buddhist models of reality but I believe I am surrounded by spiritual creatures that can influence me (based on my Maras of course and what doors / windows I leave open). I have had great success achieving dispassionate calmness using Golden Dawn ‘Banishing Rituals’ regularly.

    • Tashi Nyima says:

      There is no need to banish what is not there. Maras are projections of our own karmic formations. They are not ‘entities’. Observing them dispassionately (not fighting, not pursuing) eliminates them effectively.

      • Frater VAI says:

        Thank you for your reply. Any recommendations for the case when you are honestly and diligently not fighting and not pursuing (basically paying no attention to it (Mara) whatsoever) and yet the mental torment persists and continues to return again and again. Is there a ‘short’ path to aid in breaking this loop or does one just need to ‘brute force’ it out of their being. I suppose this would just be a really deeply rooted samsara??

        Thank you again for discussing this with me…

      • Tashi Nyima says:

        One can purify negative karma through Regret (the realization that one’s negative acts are harmful to oneself and others), Reliance on the instructions of the Buddha on moral conduct, Resolve to abandon negative acts, and making Reparations by dedicating the merit of virtuous acts to those we have harmed.

Leave a Reply

