Dharma View Corrective Lenses

lensCognitive obscuration (the view of duality: self and other, grasper and grasped) is inherent in embodied beings in samsara, but by cultivating Right View we can live without unnecessary anguish.  

I wear corrective lenses since I was 6 years old, because otherwise I cannot see clearly. If I do not wear the lenses, everything appears blurry and unfocused.  

Until the moment that I first put on corrective lenses, I was convinced that the world was indeed blurry, much like a Van Gogh painting. At first I was not sure I liked the more defined world, but eventually saw the advantages of not bumping into things and being able to recognize familiar persons.  

By this point in my life, I know that the world is not blurry —it is actually quite clearly defined, if only I wear my glasses. When I am not wearing them, I am able to remember what persons and objects look like, even if my eyes continue to report a distorted picture. I do not become afraid that people and objects have suddenly become blurry, or that they have been blurry all along.  

That is the function of Right View, to correct our inherent lack of clarity. The more we study and practice, the more we become certain that the report of our senses is distorted by cognitive and emotional obscurations, and we can stop fearing that the distortion is ‘real’.  

If we put on our Dharma View corrective lenses often, we come to see clearly, even when our physical eyes deceive us.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Dharma View and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dharma View Corrective Lenses

  1. paulfarma says:

    Thanks! PKL

Leave a Reply

