Examine and Analyze

budsobrioI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

I misconstrue patience in reference to defects and Dharma cultivation.

I misconstrue yearning in reference to possessions and the two accumulations.

I misconstrue excitement in reference to worldly matters and the study of the Dharma.

I misconstrue compassion in reference to beings and wrong views.

I misconstrue priorities in reference to advantage and practice.

I misconstrue joy in reference to the sorrows of others and their benefit.

Bless me to understand these clearly and without fault!

 

Well fed and in the sun, I am mindful.

When things go wrong, I am distracted

—the Dharma and my mind are far apart.

Bless me with constant zeal!

 

I recoil from the practice, dishonoring my family.

I shirk responsibility for my thoughts, words, and deeds,

surrendering to outflows.

Without fear or reticence, I must manifest perfection.

Ever free of depression and discouragement,

bless me to purge the delusion of impotence!

 

When in contact with objects,

I shall examine carefully the arising of emotions.

If afflictions arise, I shall apply the antidotes:

where attachment arises, loving kindness;

where aversion arises, peace and clarity;

where unconcern arises, awareness and compassion.

When self-grasping arises,

bless me to exchange myself and others!

 

Mind Training 52 – 55: Examine and Analyze

Don’t misinterpret patience, yearning,

excitement, compassion, priorities, and joy.

Don’t vacillate.

Train wholeheartedly.

Examine and analyze.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

