Without Bias

chrzI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

Afflictions arise in relation to friends, enemies, and strangers,

locations, dwellings, clothes, and possessions.

Bless me to apply the training equally to the two classes!

 

Every being throughout the six realms is a field of compassion;

every thought is inseparable from empty luminosity.

Bless me to generate an awakening mind

that encompasses beings and appearances!

 

Aggressive enemies, competitors, those who harm dear ones,

those who respond to kindness with ingratitude,

those who are mischievous, and those who are unpleasant—

Bless me to avoid strife in all situations

and feel special compassion for the coarse and the trying!

 

In favorable or unfavorable conditions,

strong or weak health, riches or poverty,

plight or its absence, good or poor standing,

bless me to train the mind right there and then,

and develop the two minds of enlightenment!

 

Throughout my many lives, what did I gain?

I have been god and wraith; I have felt joy and torment;

I have been hale and ill; I have been king and pauper.

But now that I traverse the path under sound guidance,

bless me to make this lifetime meaningful!

 

Mind Training 47 – 51: Without Bias

Train without bias in all areas.

Always train pervasively and wholeheartedly.

Always meditate on what provokes affliction.

Don’t be swayed by external circumstances.

This time, practice the main points.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

