One and Two

astamangalaI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

As I eat and drink, may the hungry and thirsty be sated;

as I go on my way, may all journey safely;

as I sit and lie down, may the tired find rest;

as I breathe in and out, may all draw in joy and expel sorrow.

Bless me to benefit all beings by my thoughts, words, and deeds!

 

If they lose their way, may they chance on a friend;

when they err, may they meet mild correction;

if they stumble and fall, may they once again rise.

Bless me to wish and pray for their deliverance!

 

As I wake, may I renew my pledge to free all beings;

as I lie down to rest, may I inspect and purify all faults.

Bless me always to live between these two!

 

 When all goes well, may I credit the Buddhas;

when it does not, may I take perfect shelter in their grace.

Bless me to neither be proud nor despair,

but to abide in peace, free from self-grasping!

 

I shall give victory and benefit to others

and take all loss and failure on myself!

Bless me to keep these two,

even at risk of death!

 

 

Mind Training 38 – 42: One and Two

In all activities, one intention.

Correct all wrongs with one intention.

One at the beginning, another at the end.

Whichever of the two occurs, be patient.

Observe these two, even at the risk of death.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

