Basic Commitments

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

If I fail to observe my commitments, I betray my own purpose.

If I make a show of my high view, I cultivate conceit.

If I become one-sided, I fall into extremes.

Bless me to remain scrupulous, discreet, and impartial!

 

Like wholesome fruit, my practice ripens gradually and quietly.

Like a lone mendicant, progress arrives without trumpet and drum.

Bless me to remain natural!

 

Yaks do not fly, and ravens do not till the soil.

It is pointless and callous to comment on the obvious.

Bless me to understand the common and uncommon appropriations!

 

The impurities of others become mine when I see them;

revealing them to others puts mine on public view.

Bless me to wash my face before mocking the mirror!

 

If I free myself of the grosser defilements,

the lesser will spontaneously subside.

Bless me to meet fascination with mindfulness,

hatred with patience, dullness with study,

malice with gladness, and arrogance with modesty!

 

Attracting followers, subduing enemies,

fame and reward, respect and comfort,

are vain and selfish aims.

Hope of success is fear of failure.

Bless me to give up hope!

 

All I think, speak, and do

is tainted with self grasping and self cherishing.

If I do not give up these two,

even my cultivation will be a cause of suffering.

Bless me to give up me and mine!

 

Mind Training 22- 28: Basic Commitments

Always abide by three basic principles.

Change your attitude, but remain natural.

Don’t contemplate others’ defects.

Don’t contemplate others’ weaknesses.

Work with your greatest defilements first.

Abandon any hope of fruition.

 Abandon poisonous food.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

