Four Practices

buddha%20eyesI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

To renew and purify my Dharma cultivation,

four practices are best.

 

I shall adopt those acts that lead to happiness:

the immeasurable Four[1], the noble Eight[2], the perfect Ten[3].

I shall avoid those acts that lead to suffering:

the five of immediate retribution[4], the four root immoralities[5],

the loss of mindfulness[6], the branches of indiscipline[7],

and breaking my commitments[8].

Bless me to guard my conduct with firm zeal!

 

I shall make gross, subtle, and very subtle offerings

to the Three Jewels and to all my Superiors,

surrendering my aggregates and all that I possess.

Bless me to serve the Precious Ones with time, talent, and treasure!

 

I shall make constant offering of mindfulness to the Protectors,

that They may watch over my practice, uphold the View,

keep me from harm, dispel all obstacles, and pacify my enemies.

Bless me to stay under Their watchful eye!

 

If I encounter happiness, let me be grateful.

If I encounter suffering, let me redouble effort.

Bless me to know that gratitude is wisdom and effort is compassion!

 

Mind Training 17 & 18: Four Practices

Four practices are the best methods:

adopting positive acts; abandoning negative acts;

making offerings to the Superiors; and making offerings to the Protectors.

Work with whatever you encounter.


[1] Compassion, love, rejoicing, equanimity

[2] Right view, thought, speech, conduct, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, concentration

[3] Generosity, morality, patience, effort, concentration, discernment, skillful means, aspiration, power, wisdom

[4] Matricide, patricide, killing a saint, harming a Buddha, splitting the Sangha

[5] Killing, stealing, lying, sexual misconduct

[6] Intoxication, leading to heedlessness

[7] Frivolity and seductive self-adornment; inappropriate foods and times; ostentation

[8] Abandoning specific practice instructions and vows

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

