Utilizing Adversity

DolBuddhaI bow to the Lord of Compassion!

 

When food and drink are ample and my bedding dry,

it is easier to practice, but less urgent.

As this world is tainted with the five corruptions[1],

may I swiftly develop the mind of renunciation.

When pain is all I have, how easy to let go!

Bless me to know this burning house is blazing.

 

These problems and vicissitudes are all of my own making:

it is only self-cherishing that prompts unskillful action.

Bless me to recognize my false self and its poisons!

 

My friends encourage and support me on the path;

my enemies provide me with instruction;

all beings are the enduring field of merit.

Bless me to cultivate deep gratitude for all!

 

The three spheres are empty:

there is no actor, no action, and no object of action.

Bless me to recognize that this experience

is insubstantial, dependent, and impermanent!

 

The all-ground is untainted,

incidentally covered but naturally splendid.

Buddha Nature is perfect empty of the separable, the fleeting stains;

not empty of the inseparable, unsurpassable qualities:

true purity, true self, true bliss, true permanence.

 

Bless me to recognize that all flaws are unreal,

mere confused and impermanent appearances!

 

Mind Training 12 -15: Utilizing Adversity

Make adversity the path of awakening.

Drive all blame into one.

Be grateful to everyone.

The ultimate protection is emptiness.

Know what arises as confusion to be the four marks of Buddha Nature.


[1] Corruptions of the age, life, beings, afflictions, and views.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Utilizing Adversity

  1. talesfromthelou says:

    Liked/ re-blogged.

  2. talesfromthelou says:

    Reblogged this on Talesfromthelou's Blog and commented:
    Much appreciated Tashi.

  3. Pingback: On the burning house… | Dharma Oasis

Leave a Reply

