Unnoticed

Summer and fall slip away; the months and years go by;

yesterday is spent, and today draws to a close.

Little did I know that I would grow old before I knew it,

with the unnoticed passage of the years.

 

On occasion during that time,

I must have known the beauty

of flowers and birds, of the breeze and the moon;

I must also have met with the joy and sorrow of pleasure and pain.

But now there is not even a single instance

that I remember in detail.

 

How sad it is to have grown gray with age,

having done no more than pass my nights and days to no purpose!

 

When I deeply reflect on the apparent soundness of my own existence,

not yet been called away by the relentless wind of impermanence,

it seems like a dream, like an illusion.

 

As for now, there is nothing left but to aspire

to the one way out of birth and death.

 

—Rennyo Shonin

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Dharma View and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

