Nectar of the Mind

after Jamyang Khyentse Wangpo

I bow to the Spiritual Friends of the Supreme Vehicle,

Source of the Three Harvests in samsara and nirvana.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May my mind be purified with the three kinds of faith.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

Knowing how hard to obtain

And how easily destroyed is this precious human life,

In all my actions, according to their karmic effect,

May I do what is right and avoid what is wrong,

And develop genuine determination to be free from samsara.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May I dissolve the illusion of duality into the space of emptiness,

And practice the profound exchange

Of my own and others’ happiness and suffering,

Continually mindful of Great Purpose.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May I see whatever adverse events and sufferings befall me

As deceptions of self-cherishing,

And use them in the path of Great Purpose.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May I condense my practice into a single essence

By applying the five powers of pure determination

Pure practice, accumulation of merit,

Dispelling obscurations, and prayers of aspiration.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

When everything arises as the antidote to self-cherishing

And my mind finds freedom,

With happiness and confidence

May I take all adverse circumstances as the path.

By my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May I keep my commitments, be free of hypocrisy,

Have no partiality, and abstain from boasting,

Protecting the commitments of mind training

As I would my own life.

In essence, by my gracious Teacher’s blessings,

May I genuinely train my mind

According to the precepts which further the Great Purpose

And attain realization within this very lifetime.

By the merit of this heartfelt aspiration

To train and tame my mind,

Essence of the teachings of the peerless Lords Atisha and Taranatha,

May all beings be established in Enlightenment.

About Tashi Nyima

I am a Dharma student, and aspire to be a companion on the path. I trust that these texts can offer a general approach and basic tools for practicing the Buddha's way to enlightenment. ||| Soy un estudiante del Dharma, y aspiro a ser un compañero en el sendero. Espero que estos textos ofrezcan a algunos un mapa general y herramientas básicas para la práctica del sendero a la iluminación que nos ofrece el Buda.
This entry was posted in Mind Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

